1. All It Cost Me Was Everything
2. Hurt You
3. Mercy
4. Feeding the Flames
5. I Don’t Trust My Memories Anymore
6. Like a Hurricane
7. How It Works
8. Nobody Knows How to Read
9. Shoulders
10. Dying Isn’t Cheap
11. Roll
12. When Whiskey Calls the Shots
September 13, 2021—Renowned singer, songwriter and musician Cody Jinks’ new song, “Dying Trying,” is debuting today. Listen/share HERE. The song is the second unveiled from Jinks’ anticipated new metal album, None The Wiser, which he created with his band Caned By Nod and will be released November 12 (pre-order here).
In conjunction with None The Wiser, Jinks will also release a new solo country record, Mercy, the same day, both via his independent label, Late August Records (pre-order here). Both produced and engineered by Edward Spear (with co-production on Mercy by Jinks’ longtime bandmate Joshua Thompson) and recorded simultaneously at Sonic Ranch in Tornillo, Texas, the two records represent Jinks’ uniqueness as an artist, demonstrating his rare ability to successfully create across genres. Although varying sonically and thematically, Mercy and None The Wiser are tied together through Jinks’ signature songwriting, which takes yet another step forward with even more perception and grit displayed on both albums. Ahead of the releases, Jinks recently unveiled two additional songs, one from each record: “All It Cost Me Was Everything” from Mercy and “Middle Finger” from None The Wiser.
With Mercy, Jinks continues to put forth his unique eclectic country sound, incorporating a hybrid of soulful elements, including rock, blues, classic country, metal and more. Written entirely during quarantine, Jinks used his time at home to further develop his already accomplished songwriting skills. Working with both longtime friends and heroes, Mercy features collaborations with artists such as Chris Shiflett, Kendell Marvel, Adam Hood, TN Jet, David Matsler, Josh Morningstar, Greg C. Jones and Ward Davis, as well as Jinks’ wife, Rebecca.
Meanwhile, None The Wiser takes its cues from arena-caliber classic rock, thrash metal and psychedelic-tinged grungeand marks a full circle moment for Jinks, who performed in a metal band two decades ago before making the shift to country music. The ten tracks on None The Wiser, all of which he wrote with his past bandmate Ben Heffley, are a mix of old and new, some written as recently as this year, while others date back to the early 2000s.
Reflecting on the two projects, Jinks shares, “It was very different recording them at the same time. Literally, it was being in one studio and walking next door and going from this beautiful country song that we’re doing to just this really angry metal song, flipping a switch,” and continues, “The actual art of writing was the only thing I really had to focus on to keep myself sane…the song comes first. If I’m not writing a great song, then I’m dead in the water. I really, really focused on being a better wordsmith.”
In addition to Jinks (vocals), Mercy features his longtime band—Joshua Thompson (bass, background vocals), Chris Claridy (lead guitar, acoustic guitar), Austin Tripp (steel guitar, dobro), David Colvin (drums, percussion) and Drew Harakal (keys, acoustic guitar, background vocals)—while Caned By Nod is Jinks (vocals, guitar), Jacob Lentner (guitars), Aksel Coe (drums) and Calvin Knowles (bass).
In celebration of the new music, Jinks will perform select headline show this fall including upcoming stops at Las Vegas’ The Chelsea (three nights, all sold-out), Asheville’s Harrah’s Cherokee Center, St Louis’ The Fabulous Fox, Minneapolis’ The Armory and Austin’s Nutty Brown Amphitheater (two shows, one sold-out) as well as a special performance at Stagecoach 2022. See below for complete itinerary. Full details can be found at
With the new albums, Jinks solidifies his reputation as an artist who does things on his own terms. Constantly at work, he was recently named MusicRow’s 2020 “Independent Artist of the Year” after receiving the most radio spins for an independent artist and was awarded Entertainer of the Year, Songwriter of the Year and Single of the Year by Texas Radio in 2020. Known for his tenacious grassroots approach and constantly at work, Jinks has continued to receive widespread attention in recent years with Rolling Stone declaring, “one of outlaw country’s most popular new stars,” while Paste praised, “His roughhewn, homegrown country sound borrows from the usual forebears—Waylon, Willie, Kris, Merle and Johnny among them—while sounding perfectly in sync with today’s current breed of Americana insurgent.”
Since the release of his 2015 breakthrough record, Adobe Sessions, which features his Platinum-certified and fan-favorite song, “Loud and Heavy,” Jinks has gone on to release four more studio albums: 2016’s I’m Not the Devil, 2018’s Lifersand a pair of self-released 2019 albums, The Wanting and After the Fire, which reached #2 on Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart. Moreover, Jinks has sold over 1.5 million equivalent units throughout his career, garnered over 2 billion streams across platforms and has 2.18 million monthly Spotify listeners.
1. Middle Finger
2. Dying Trying
3. None the Wiser
4. Seeing Ghosts
5. Covet
6. Led Astray
7. Half a Life
8. Can’t Hide the Truth
9. Broken Wings
10. Eyes
 on-sale next Friday, September 24
September 17—Pryor, OK—Born & Raised Music Festival
September 25—Austin, TX—Nutty Brown Amphitheater* (SOLD OUT)
September 26—Austin, TX—Nutty Brown Amphitheater*
October 8—Columbia, SC—Township Auditorium#
October 9—Asheville, NC—Harrah’s Cherokee Center
November 13—St. Louis, MO—The Fabulous Fox+
November 19—Minneapolis, MN—The Armory+
December 2—Las Vegas, NV—The Chelsea+ (SOLD OUT)
December 3—Las Vegas, NV—The Chelsea+ (SOLD OUT)
December 5—Las Vegas, NV—The Chelsea+ (SOLD OUT)
April 29-May 1, 2022—Indio, CA—Stagecoach Festival 2022
*with special guest Travis Tritt
#with special guests Randy Rogers Band and Ward Davis
+with special guest Randy Rogers Band


Follow us on twitter: @emmreport

instagram @emmreport

Check out:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MERCY MUSIC release“MELODY AND TRUTH” LP – Pre-Order Now Available…

  “MERCY MUSIC KEEP THE FIGHT ALIVE WITH ANTHEMIC PUNK ROCK”- The Noise Las Vegas punks, Mercy Music have announced “MELODY AND TRUTH” a 13-track retrospective LP of the band’s catalog. 13 of the best tracks pulled from the band’s three LPs, as selected by Adam Bomb from The Faction. Pressed on Deluxe foil-stamped gatefold cover on 180-gram […]

Read More


  EMERGING TRIO UNVEILS “SUMMER NIGHT” WITH LOLA MARSH + VIDEO TODAY TRACK APPEARS IN FIFA 22 SOUNDTRACK photo credit: Michael Topyol September 20, 2021—“Summer Night,” the new single from emerging trio Garden City Movement with Lola Marsh, is out now. In addition, the group unveils an accompanying video directed by Charlie Di Placido (Jungle, Diplo, […]

Read More


  NEW COUNTRY AND METAL ALBUMS—MERCY AND NONE THE WISER—OUT NOVEMBER 12 SELECT FALL TOUR DATES CONFIRMED   September 20, 2021—Renowned singer, songwriter and musician Cody Jinks’ new song, “I Don’t Trust My Memories Anymore,” is debuting today. Listen/share HERE. Written by Jinks, Chris Shiflett and Kendell Marvel, the song is the second unveiled from Jinks’ anticipated new country album, Mercy, which […]

Read More