Photo credit: Pierre-Emmanuel Rastoin, 2023

Composed over the last two years during a period of uncertainty and fear, RIOPY’s new album THRIVE–out April 14– “represents the inner strength that pushes us to fight in moments of doubt or sorrow.” Accompanying the announcement are the record’s first single, “Nocturne,” and video–listen here

THRIVE marks the beginning of a new chapter for RIOPY. It builds on the success of his trilogy of albums, RIOPY (2018), Tree of Light (2019) and Bliss (2021), which have accumulated more than half a billion streams and achieved significant chart success: Tree of Light remains near the top of the Billboard classical chart after more than 120 weeks. It will be the first of his albums to include strings alongside the evocative and powerful pianism which has earned the pianist-composer an ever-growing international following.
THRIVE is also a metaphor for RIOPY’s personal journey. During RIOPY’s unique upbringing in rural France, he found solace in music, improvising on the piano alone as a means to escape the stress and anxiety of the real world. When he was able to listen to music, RIOPY would imagine expansions of the melodies he heard. The album THRIVE was born from the same process: “One day, I was playing Satie’s famous Gymnopédie and kept expanding it and from that little seed, THRIVE was born. In taking inspiration from the greatest classical composers, I wanted to show how I interpret and shape their music in my mind.”
As well as new compositions for solo piano, the album features the composer-pianist’s take on famous music which has most inspired him, including works by Satie, Pachelbel, Beethoven, Fauré, Debussy and Chopin. He has transformed their much-loved melodies into cinematic scores of his own, and composed lush arrangements for string orchestra. He explains: “The piano has always helped me find this momentum, this inner strength, and composing for strings has opened up new horizons for me. The reinterpreted melodies on this album are a metaphor to show that everything can evolve.”
1. Nocturne
2. Memory of Water
3. Costa da Caparica
4. Origin
5. Thrive
6. Piano Allegretto
7. Melancholia
8. Sakura
9. Ascent of the Moon
10. Ever After
11. Lily’s Lullaby
12. Inner Peace
13. A Secret Place
14. Essence of Light
15. Dipemnogy
16. Dawn of Evolution
17. La Nocturne


Follow us on twitter, tik tok, instagram: @emmreport


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Santa Barbara, CA’s Versus The World (Feat. Members of Lagwagon, Good Riddance) Sign With SBÄM Records; Announce New Album “The Bastards Live Forever” Out May 25, 2023

  Produced By Cameron Webb (Motorhead, Sum 41, Megadeth) Santa Barbara, CA’s Versus The World have joined the SBÄM Records family. The band’s upcoming Cameron Webb-produced album “The Bastards Live Forever” will be released in May 2023. On February 24, the first of four singles prior to the album will be released. “I can’t tell you how much work went […]

Read More

Death Metal Legends OBITUARY Announce Spring North America Headline Tour

[Photo Credit: Tim Hubbard] New Album ‘Dying of Everything’ is Out Now! Order ‘Dying of Everything’ HERE Legendary Florida Death Metal icons OBITUARY announce Spring North America tour dates! OBITUARY are touring in support of their critically acclaimed new album ‘Dying of Everything’! The tour begins April 28 and ends in late May. Support will be provided by Immolation, Blood Incantation & Ingrown. […]

Read More

OWL: Heavy Blog Is Heavy Premieres “Pyramid Builder” From California Psychedelic Prog Metal Group; Geomancy Full-Length Nears Release Via Lummox Records

Photo by Amber Lynch Stream OWL’s “Pyramid Builder” HERE. California-based psychedelic prog metal unit OWL is pleased to unveil their latest single, “Pyramid Builder.” Now playing at Heavy Blog Is Heavy, the track comes by way of the band’s third full-length, Geomancy, set for release February 17th via Lummox Records. OWL’s ambitious Geomancy long player enhances baroque elements of guitar […]

Read More