NIGHT GOAT: Ohio Death Rock Outfit To Release Second LP, Totem, Through Black Donut Records In March

 “Child Of Owls” Streaming + Preorders Posted
photo by Molly Crowe
Portland-based independent label Black Donut Records has signed Canton, Ohio-based NIGHT GOAT for the March release of the band’s second LP, Totem, today issuing the cover art, track listing, preorders, and lead single, “Child Of Owls.”
Not for the weak of heart, NIGHT GOAT delivers abrasive, slashing, dark noise rock/death rock, with elements of goth, post-punk, and doom, their barrage of sounds owing to an almost supernatural regard of classic bands of the genre like Samhain, Unsane, 45 Grave, Eyehategod, and even Sonic Youth.
NIGHT GOAT’s debut album, Milk, was released in late 2019 and received rave reviews throughout the underground. In 2020 the band followed up with a split release with good friends Ghost:Hello on European label Interstellar Smoke Records. 2021 found the band added to a Samhain tribute album, World Without End, where they delivered an explosive cover of the Samhain classic “Moribund.” The tribute album was released by Black Donut Records, who invited NIGHT GOAT back in 2022 for the Melvins tribute LP, A Future Of Bad Men, where the band covered “Antitoxidote” which Decibel Magazine lauded as, “a sludgy mess that Buzzo would likely approve of.” These two collaborations led the label to sign the band for their second LP, Totem.
The ten new tracks that embody Totem see NIGHT GOAT at their deadliest yet. The recording lineup was embodied by vocalist Julia Bentley, guitarist/vocalist Chris Bentley, bassist/vocalist Dalin Jones, and guitarist Mike Ramone and drummer Donnie Casey who have since left the band. The album was engineered by Jeremy James at Wreckroom Recording Studio, mastered by Sterling “Spidermonkey” Hankins, and completed with artwork by Chris Bentley and Gordiart. Totem also features guest guitar by Clinton Jacob (Mr. Phylzzz) on “Wendigo,” saxophone from Matt Corey on “Death Crow Dance,” and additional percussion from Tommy Dalo on “Child Of Owls” and “Death Crow Dance.”
Black Donut owner Morey Straus states, “I’m a longtime fan of NIGHT GOAT and really honored that they chose us to release their new album. It’s their darkest, heaviest release yet.”
Chris Bentley adds, “We’ve built up a good relationship with Black Donut and we’re excited to be working with them for our new album.”
The lead single to NIGHT GOAT’s Totem, “Child Of Owls,” is now streaming at THIS LOCATION.
Black Donut Records will release Totem on LP – 300 copies on Ghostly Grape transparent purple vinyl – and digital platforms on March 17th. Find preorders HERE.
Totem Track Listing:
1. Sister Wolf
2. Ghost Sickness
3. Wendigo
4. Blood Circles
5. Child Of Owls
6. Rattlesnake
7. Ritual Of Antlers
8. Skin Walk With Me
9. Pale Face Lightning
10. Death Crow Dance
Having shared the stage with the likes of Christian Death, The Obsessed, Cherubs, Whores, Low Dose, False Gods, Mr. Phylzzz, and many more, NIGHT GOAT plans on staying quite busy touring regionally and beyond across the US in 2023. Stand by for live announcements to post over the weeks ahead alongside additional audio previews of Totem.
photo by Chris Suspect


Follow us on twitter, tik tok, instagram: @emmreport


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Santa Barbara, CA’s Versus The World (Feat. Members of Lagwagon, Good Riddance) Sign With SBÄM Records; Announce New Album “The Bastards Live Forever” Out May 25, 2023

  Produced By Cameron Webb (Motorhead, Sum 41, Megadeth) Santa Barbara, CA’s Versus The World have joined the SBÄM Records family. The band’s upcoming Cameron Webb-produced album “The Bastards Live Forever” will be released in May 2023. On February 24, the first of four singles prior to the album will be released. “I can’t tell you how much work went […]

Read More

Death Metal Legends OBITUARY Announce Spring North America Headline Tour

[Photo Credit: Tim Hubbard] New Album ‘Dying of Everything’ is Out Now! Order ‘Dying of Everything’ HERE Legendary Florida Death Metal icons OBITUARY announce Spring North America tour dates! OBITUARY are touring in support of their critically acclaimed new album ‘Dying of Everything’! The tour begins April 28 and ends in late May. Support will be provided by Immolation, Blood Incantation & Ingrown. […]

Read More

OWL: Heavy Blog Is Heavy Premieres “Pyramid Builder” From California Psychedelic Prog Metal Group; Geomancy Full-Length Nears Release Via Lummox Records

Photo by Amber Lynch Stream OWL’s “Pyramid Builder” HERE. California-based psychedelic prog metal unit OWL is pleased to unveil their latest single, “Pyramid Builder.” Now playing at Heavy Blog Is Heavy, the track comes by way of the band’s third full-length, Geomancy, set for release February 17th via Lummox Records. OWL’s ambitious Geomancy long player enhances baroque elements of guitar […]

Read More