Milliseconds (Joe Easley and Eric Axelson of The Dismemberment Plan and Leigh Thompson of The Vehicle Birth) Releasing Debut LP ‘So This Is How It Happens’ on October 13, 2023

Milliseconds SoThisIsHowItHappens 3600

Track Listing:

1. Every Day is Decided
2. Time and Distance
3. Fallingwater
4. No Peaches
5. Killed by Convenience
6. Words Like Sparrows
7. Wake Me When It’s Over
8. I’m Trying
9. Lost and Found
10. Drones
11. So This is How it Happens
12. We’ll Never Know

New Song “Time and Distance” Premiering on Stereogum

Milliseconds 01 Col edit

Screenshot 2023-08-09 at 11.12.39 AM

Photo Credit: Evan Bowles

Milliseconds featuring Joe Easley (drums) and Eric Axelson (vocals / bass / synth) of The Dismemberment Plan, and Leigh Thompson (guitar / noises / pedal board) of The Vehicle Birth will release their J Robbins-produced debut LP ‘So This Is How It Happens’ on October 13 via Spartan Records.

The first single “Time and Distance” is premiering today on Stereogum:

Pre-order the album here:


Many moons ago, Joe Easley (drums) and Eric Axelson (vocals / bass / synth) were in the Dismemberment Plan, and met Leigh Thompson (guitar / noises / pedal board), who was in the Vehicle Birth — fourteen years later, and thanks to broadband, we now have Milliseconds.

The DNA of the Dismemberment Plan, the Vehicle Birth, and the trio’s prior band Statehood, are clearly present in ‘So This Is How It Happens’, but as a three-piece, part of the Milliseconds journey was reenvisioning the sonic landscape — trying to figure out how sonic space was filled or left open. A large portion of that experimentation took place during the production of the album with heralded producer J Robbins. Milliseconds evolved and grew organically over time, and as a result, the band’s debut release covers a wide sonic territory swerving not only through the band members’ previous projects, but also through the haunts of bands like the Replacements, Hot Snakes, and the Kinks.


Follow us on twitter, tik tok, instagram: @emmreport





Lemon Knife: Ignite

Story: Ralph Greco, Jr. Lemon Knife is the Chicago-based husband and wife duo of Mia Blixt-Shenan singing and playing guitar and husband John Retterer-Moore playing drums, and what they call the more ‘punkier’ vocals, From the jump here, on the loud and in your face, jumpy title track opening one realizes this duo know well […]

Read More

Black Tish: Throbbing Flip Out

  Story: Ralph Greco, Jr. Formed in Brussels, Belgium, in the late 80s, Black Tish comes to us now, many years after first coming onto the scene with their specific style of industrial electronica, with Throbbing Flip Out. This new release features seven songs, some old(er) songs, some new, all helmed by the band’s leader […]

Read More

Chris Ianuzzi: Distant Suns/Wide Side two-sided single

Story: Ralph Greco, Jr. Spacey blips flow into a synth-led danceable beat, with vocals making more music than they do an actual statement on the first tune of NYC-composer Chris Ianuzzi’s new double single. This tune, “Distant Suns,” keeps up with its blurring, plastic-pulling video-game sounds, and swirling vocals throughout its mid-tempo four-minute + mélange. […]

Read More